FAQ

When do the application processes and program begin?
What information should I fill out in the on-line application?

Please see the program introduction for class dates, application period, and payment period.
Fill out the student's name, birth date, passport number, contact information (please provide two email account to avoid our notification emails being rejected, fixed-line phone and cell-phone numbers, fax number, contact address) , emergency contact, special learning needs, self-evaluated Chinese proficiency, health status.

What does the tuition fee include?

The tuition fee covers:
(1) Textbooks, handouts, and supplies for language & culture classes.
(2) Transportation and admission charges for the excursions. Students do not need to pay for admission or transportation fee. We hire buses which meet the national safety standards for excursion.
(3) Traveler insurance covering the length of the 3-weeks program.
Attention: Accommodation and meals are not covered by the tuition fee.

What should I bring with me for the first day of the program? Is my passport needed?

Besides a pen/pencil and a notebook for classes, please bring your passport with you for the orientation on the first day for the insurance enrollment. If possible, we suggest you also bring your tuition payment receipt (either original or photocopied one) with you.

Is airport pick-up service provided for individual students?

If you need an airport pick-up service, the MTC can recommend a number of chauffeur pick-up services for your reference. Please note that this service is not covered by your tuition fees.

The program dates do not fit my schedule. Can I join the class midway?

MTC upholds a standard for its educational norm and quality. ALL STUDENTS ARE REQUIRED TO ATTEND THE ORIENTATION AND PLACEMENT TEST ON THE FIRST DAY OF CLASS. Students may leave the camp early as a result of schedule conflicts; however, students are NOT allowed to join the class halfway. This policy is set to ensure the teaching quality for other students and will not be compromised.

May I choose not to join the cultural excursions or cultural classes? Can I get refunds for the classes I missed?

On the first day of the program, we will give every student a survey to find out if you will attend all the activities and classes. You may choose not to join some of the classes or activities; however, you are still required to pay the full amount of tuition. No refund will be given for missed classes or excursions.

Can I use MTC facilities? Is wireless connection available?

You may use student facilities provided by the MTC, which include a library, language labs, a student lounge, and a computer room. If you need wireless Internet access, you may apply for an account, which will grant you access for three weeks free of charge.

When should I pay the tuition? How should I pay the tuition? Can I pay for the program after I arrive in Taiwan?

A Payment Notice will be sent to your email account after application period has passed. Please wire the tuition fee to the bank account indicated by the Notice. After making the transfer, please fax your receipt to +886-2-2341-8431 (be sure to indicate the student's name and the program title, "3-week Express Program", on the faxed receipt.) If you fail to complete the said application procedure by the payment deadline, your application will be seen as incomplete and your seat will be canceled and opened to waiting list applicants. Please note:
(1) We only accept payment made during payment period. Late payment or pay-on-site will not be accepted.
(2) Be cautious of possible scams. Please make sure the email of Payment Notice is sent from ( studymtc@deps.ntnu.edu.tw ) and the beneficiary name of USD account is "National Taiwan Normal University 402U account."

How can I check my application status? Will I be contacted after I complete my application process?

We will show all the applicants' "Application Status" on our website and update it during the weekdays (Mon. to Fri. , Taiwan time). Please note it usually takes 10-15 days to confirm the receipt of international remittance. For privacy concerns, we only post the APPLICATION NUMBER which you receive from the on-line application system after you submitted your application online.

How do I get to the Mandarin Training Center, NTNU?

Address: 6F Bo-ai Building, No. 129 He-ping East Road Sec.1, Taipei City. Please see Location for the direction to MTC.

How many classes/ levels are there? How do you place students in classes? What is the size of each class? Will the program be suitable for beginners who have never learned Chinese before?

The orientation session and placement tests will be held on the first day of the program. Students will be placed into classes based on the results of placement tests. The number of classes opened and the number of students in each class depend on the actual number of enrolled students. In principle, there are 6-10 students in one class. Classes are divided into beginner’s, basic, intermediary and advanced level. Many applicants are at beginner’s level, and they will be placed into the beginner’s class.

If my schedule changes and I am unable to attend the program after having completed the registration, is the tuition refundable?

90% refund of tuition is available prior to the first day of the program. 50% refund of tuition will be offered for requests submitted before one-third of the program is completed. No refunds will be given after one-third of the program has completed.
Attention: All refund requests are processed at the end of the program.

Will a Certificate of Completion or a transcript be issued?

For students who meet the required study hours a certificate of completion will be provided, for students who miss one third (15 hours) or more of language classes, no certificate will be issued.
Transcripts can be provided upon request.

Do I need to apply for a visa?

Whether you need a visa depends upon the terms and conditions granted to your country. At present, visa-free countries include: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, U.K., U.S.A., and the Vatican City State.
As the visa-free stay period of each country varies, we suggest you consult the Bureau of Council Affairs website and inquire with the ROC consulate office nearest to you before application.

FAQ

上課及申請報名時間是什麼時候?
線上報名需要填哪些資料?

上課及申請報名時間、繳費期間請參考「課程介紹」單元。
線上報名需填學生姓名、出生日期、護照號碼、聯絡方式(電子郵件信箱兩個以防被退件、電話、手機、傳真、地址)、聯絡人聯絡方式、學習特殊需求、自評學生中文程度、健康狀況。

學費包含哪些?

學費包含:
(1) 語言及文化課程的教材、講義、書籍和材料費
(2) 校外教學的交通及門票費用。校外教學將租用合格且有牌照的巴士來進行,無須另外自費門票或交通。
(3) 課程期間全程三週個人平安保險費用。 請注意:學費不包含住宿及餐點費用。

請問第一天報到時我需要準備什麼?
需要帶護照嗎?

除了攜帶學習時需要的筆、筆記等用品外,請務必帶護照來確認基本資料是否正確,以便於辦理保險等事宜,另外最好也帶繳費收據 (正本影本皆可) 來確認繳費情況。

你們提供接機服務嗎?

學費不包含接機服務。如果您需要機場接送服務,我們可以提供廠商資訊給您做參考。

我的行程跟與梯次時間不符合,可以中途插班上課嗎?

本課程有其教育理念及品質上的堅持,所有學生必須參加開學的新生訓練及分班測驗,也就是說,學生若時間上無法配合三週的課程,是可以提前離開的,但恕不接受中途插班的學員,這也是對其他學生的教學品質之權利維護。

校外教學與文化課可以選擇不參加嗎?
不參加可以退費嗎?

在開學第一天會調查您是否參加所有活動及課程,您當然可選擇不參加,但無法退費。

可以使用學校的電腦或其他設施嗎?有無線網路嗎?

台灣師範大學國語中心的公用設施,包含圖書室、視聽教室、自修教室、電腦教室都可以免費使用。若需要無線網路則可以透過申請的手續,免費於三週內使用

何時要繳費?怎麼付學費?可以到台灣才現場繳費嗎?

本單位將於報名截止日之後寄出「繳費通知」至您的電郵,請依其通知上註明之繳款資訊,以銀行轉帳的方式進行匯款,並將繳費收據傳真至+886-2-2341-8431(收據傳真上請註明學生姓名及課程名稱「中文三週速達班」)。 請在繳費期限內匯款及傳真收據,若於期限內未完成所有報名程序,則視同放棄,其名額將開放給候補名單,恕無法保留。 請注意:
(1) 我們僅接受規定時間內之匯款,恕不接受逾期或現場繳費。
(2) 為防止詐騙事件,請注意匯款資訊是由國語中心之信箱發出(studymtc@deps.ntnu.edu.tw),受款戶名為「National Taiwan Normal University 402U account」

我的報名進度到底如何?報名完成後會有什麼通知嗎?

我們將於每天 (台灣時間週一至週五) 於網站上更新每個報名者的「報名進度」,國際匯款可能需要透過許多銀行轉帳的問題,通常需10-15個工作天來進行收帳的確認。為顧及個人隱私,僅公佈報名序號 (於線上報名系統所取得之報名序號)。

如何前往台師大國語教學中心?

地址:台北市和平東路一段129號 博愛樓六樓。
請參考「聯絡我們」單元

請問會開幾個班?幾種等級?如何分班?每班多少人?完全沒有學過也能報名參加嗎?

第一天將會舉行新生說明會及分班測驗,學生將依其中文程度分班。實際班級數、與每班人數將視實際報人數而定。目前預計每班6-10人,程度分別是入門、初級、中級、高級。每年都有許多的初學者報名,他們將會被編入入門班。

若報名後因故無法參加需退出,學費可以退嗎?

繳費後至開學日前一天申請者退還學費九成,上課未逾課程時間三分之一者退五成,上課逾三分之一恕不予退費。 請注意:所有退費事宜將於課程結束後統一辦理。

有結業證書或成績單嗎?

學習時數符合中心規定者,頒發結業證書,但若語言課缺課時數超過總時數之三分之一 (15小時),則無法拿到結業證書。需成績單者,可另行申請。

我需要辦理簽證嗎?

是否需要簽證依每個國家的情況而定,目前免簽證的國家有:
澳大利亞 (Australia)、奧地利 (Austria)、比利時 (Belgium)、保加利亞 (Bulgaria)、加拿大 (Canada)、捷克 (Czech Republic)、塞普勒斯 (Cyprus)、丹麥(Denmark)、愛沙尼亞(Estonia)、芬蘭 (Finland)、法國 (France)、德國 (Germany)、希臘 (Greece)、匈牙利 (Hungary)、冰島 (Iceland)、愛爾蘭 (Ireland)、義大利 (Italy)、日本 (Japan)、韓國 (Republic of Korea)、拉脫維亞(Latvia)、列支敦斯登 (Liechtenstein)、立陶宛 (Lithuania)、盧森堡(Luxembourg)、 馬來西亞 (Malaysia)、馬爾他 (Malta)、摩納哥 (Monaco)、荷蘭 (Netherlands)、紐西蘭 (New Zealand)、挪威 (Norway)、波蘭 (Poland))、葡萄牙 (Portugal)、羅馬尼亞 (Romania)、新加坡 (Singapore)、斯洛伐克 (Slovakia)、斯洛維尼亞(Slovenia)、西班牙 (Spain)、瑞典 (Sweden)、瑞士 (Switzerland)、英國 (U.K.)、美國 (U.S.A.)、梵蒂岡城國(Vatican City State)等41國旅客。
其可停留天數不一,詳情請參考中華民國領事局的網站,報名前最好事先詢問最近的中華民國大使館或辦事處。